Beijing Facts

Beijing, known as previously Peking, is the capital and the second largest city of China. It is located at latitude 39°26′ and 41°03′ N, longitude 115°25′ and 117°30′E, in northern China. The total area of Beijing is approximately 16,800 square kilometers, and it had a population of 20 million in 2009. Mandarin is the language spoken in Beijing, with Beijing's dialect being the standard form of Mandarin.

• Chinese Name: 北京

• Location: Northern China

• Population: 20 million

• Languages: Mandarin

• Zip Code: 10000

• Tel Code: 010

• Time Zone: (UTC+8)

• Internet Code: .CN

• Currency: Yuan(CNY)

• Electricity: 220 volts AC (50 Hz)

Beijing Districts

Beijing is divided into 16 districts and 2 counties. 8 of the districts are in Beijing inner city, which are Dongcheng District, Xicheng District, Chongwen District, Xuanwu District, Chaoyang District, Haidian District, Fengtai District, Shijingshan District. The other 8 districts are on the outskirt of Beijing namely: Mentougou District, Fangshan District, Tongzhou District, Shunyi District, Changping District, Pinggu District, Huairou District and Daxing District. The 2 counties which are located in the suburbs of Beijing are Miyun County and Yanqing County.

Most of the attractions are in the inner city. The Forbidden City, which is the ancient imperial palace of the emperors of China, is centrally located in Dongcheng District. Chongwen District has the Temple of Heaven while the imperial resort - Summer Palace is located in Haidian District. The Great Wall, which stretches along the northern part of Beijing Municipality, covers Yanqing County (Badaling Great Wall), Huairou District (Mutianyu Great Wall, Jiankou Great Wall), Miyun County (Simatai Great Wall, Jinshanling Great Wall).

Beijing is significant at many different level and attracts visitors from all over the world. To know some about Beijing, please read on or contact us at

Tailor-made My Trip